Reviews

Read more reviews or post your own review  for us by clicking Here….

 

SOURCE: TripAdvisor.com

 Ultimate Tour
Fun and relaxed…– Saundra D USA
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Erik is both professional and fun so our tour was on time, delivered what he promised AND hit the high points of what we were most interested in seeing. We are pretty adventurous so the need for a tour guide wasn’t immediately evident but my goodness it made a HUGE difference. Erik knew exactly where to take us for the experience we wanted and he was knowledgeable about the history as well as current events and the diverse communities. This coupled with his sense of humor made the tour a blast. We had so much fun we are going AGAIN tonight…this time dinner!

Visited August 2014
Intimate!– Binder, Saudi Arabia
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

I had the best time on this when I was in Amsterdam.
The way Eric guide us through the coffee shops and explain facts and history is Amazing. The choice of cafe’s was selected perfectly. I learned facts about cannabis like which type it suit your mood or which time can affect your physical energy.

I liked how move from a cafe to another to rest and chat. The time management was great!

Above all, Erik’s attitude
was superb!

This tour is simply the BEST!!!

Visited October 2014

 

“This was a fun way to see Amsterdam at night with a friendly, knowledgeable guide. Erik was a great guide and was informative, considerate and just a delight to be around. The tour itself was relaxed and sociable and went to all the sites you would expect in a red light tour and then a few more! I would book with this company again.”
— KaraG878

“Erik was geweldig. Zeer vriendelijk, makkelijk te praten, en enthousiast om te behagen. We huurden fietsen en gingen naar verschillende coffeshops. Hij was goed ingelicht en een grote algehele afhandelingsbedrijf ons in onze voorwaarde. We hielden van de fietsen zoveel als de coffeeshops. Als je naar dit en vrij goed op de fiets ben ik “sterk” aanraden huurt de fietsen.”
— Jasontravel0123

“Super friendly staff, Erik is very knowledgable! He knows all the nooks and bars that give Amsterdam her unique spirit. I def plan on using them again. All the bars they go to are great but the bar at the end O’rileys is my fave, who doesn’t adore irish pubs!”
— Lewisje1

“Our tour contained my husband and I .. And around 20 Germans! So Erik and his guys were just awesome! Making sure both parties understood the tour, stayed together and felt comfortable.. And chilled out 😉
They Knew all the best places to go as well as local knowledge ( places to eat, historical culture etc)
Took in some great little cafés that we may not have found, as well as a nice Irish bar (O’Reileys) , where we returned back to for several hours after the tour… I’d definitely recommend the ‘coffee shop’ … Was like chilling with friends 🙂 “

— MrsMUk

“Of u nu een roker bent of niet, is deze tour een unieke ervaring en een geweldige manier om de stad te verkennen een andere kant van de stad. De gids is deskundig, vriendelijk en veiligheidsbewust en Zezorgen er altijd voor je comfortabel en geniet van de tour. Naast de coffeeshops, biedt hij een geschiedenis van het gebied.”
— ​Michael Q

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Now I thought I knew all there is to know about Amsterdam. But I was wrong! He showed me so much, not only about weed, but also about the cultural side of the city, which was a great +. Erik is a very entertaining guy, although a little too ditsy from time to time.. But that is no problem! 5 out of 5!!

Visited January 2016
Helpful?

Thank ValentinG3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015 via mobile

The Ganja walking tour is a lot of fun but at the same time informative and includes many famous attractions of amsterfam. These include the amsterdam museum and the begijnhof. All in all a opportunity to see amsterdam.attractionsamsterdam.

Visited October 2015
Helpful?

Thank Manav C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Straubing, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2015

It was a very chilled and interesting tour through Amsterdams Coffee Shops.
We were a group of 4 young german guys.
Eric spoke perfect english so we understood him very very good.

We come back this year again and do the same tour just because it was so cool last time.

Visited February 2015
Helpful?

Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

Me and a group of friends visited Amsterdam for the weekend. We’re from Germany but it’s been the first time we made it over the border to Amsterdam. We decided to kick off the weekend with a guided tour so we could get a quick impression of the most important sights and maybe get some insider information. I picked Oranje Umbrella based on the good reviews I read and it turned out to be the perfect start for our trip!
We had two guides in our group, Erik (American) and Franz (German). Both were super nice and knowledgable. Erik actually could host his own comedy show. He is extremely entertaining and funny.
Our tour started at the Royal Palace in the city center. From there we went to try some traditional Dutch food and afterwards to the first coffee-shops. Some of us haven’t tried marijuana before so it was very helpful that our guides helped us with selecting and rolling the joints. They also knew a lot of interesting things about the differences between the types of marijuana, the laws on drugs in the Netherlands and much more.
What I loved most about the tour was the great balance the tour offered: We saw some really cool coffee shops, tried (very tasty) “space-cake” and so on, but we also went through cultural sights, a museum and some really nice parts of town. During our tour that was almost 3 hours we also got to know some really nice people in our group with whom we ended up going out later in the evening.

Bottom line: A great start in a fantastic weekend in Amsterdam. Very recommendable!

Visited July 2015
Helpful?

1 Thank Nicolas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2015

A really interesting and informative tour. Erik is doing a fantastic job. I liked that the tour wasn’t only about coffeeshops, but also a bit about history, Amsterdam sightseeings and exploring cool places to go 🙂

Visited August 2015
Helpful?

Thank Olga_DDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

On a scala from one to ten, I give this tour and Erik, our tourguide,an eleven! He is the most warm and welcoming person. He makes you feel right at home.He showed us the most wonderful places. The ones we would never find on our own. Lots of information, do’s and don’ts, but never too much too absorbe. He learned us all about marihuana, coffeeshops and the red light district. We would book another tour with him in a heartbeat. Best value for money ever…..

Visited January 2015
Helpful?

Thank justbianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Very Nice tour. I think best tour ever! It is fun, entertaining, educational and ended with a blast.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?

Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Super friendly staff, Erik is very knowledgable! He knows all the nooks and bars that give Amsterdam her unique spirit. I def plan on using them again. All the bars they go to are great but the bar at the end O’rileys is my fave, who doesn’t adore irish pubs!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?

1 Thank Lewisje1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

If you’re looking for an enjoyable & interesting tour of Amsterdam to learn some of the best coffee shops in town. Or if your looking to get some history of the city & how to travel to & fro thru the city. Or to learn the best way to roll a joint & smoke your own. Or just to get high, take in the ambience, & walk the red light district. I was able to rep the benefit of all areas from taking the Ganja tour. Depending on your tolerance level you may want to smoke at the end of the tour to take in everything & enjoy learning the streets of Amsterdam. It is definitely worth the whole 2 hours to be able to see everything you need to know & go back to the best places on your own! Worth every penny, bring along friends for the best way to reflect on good memories from Amsterdam.

Helpful?

Thank MsMomo2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik S, Owner at Oranje Umbrella Tours, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Your simply the best :)!

Report response as inappropriate

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

we done a 2 hr tour in late november and were greatly entertained and informed by Eric our guide, he gave us a history of the coffee shop culture and of the surrounding area inc visits to 2 coffee shops and a stop off and talk at an Irish bar which we ate at later and had great food
Eric took great care of our group and if you didnt want to partake then that was fine but if you did then he kept a close eye on you and made sure you were safe during the tour
many thanx for a great and different tour. highly recommend

Visited November 2015
Helpful?

Thank donegalrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
70 attraction reviews
65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I met our guide, Felix at Dam Square along with two others. He gave us a ice walking tour along with the history of ganja in the Netherlands. We stopped at two “coffee shops” along the wY as well as one pub. It was great as I probably would not have gone in by myself. It was a fun and informative two hour tour.

Visited February 2016
Helpful?

Thank SueInClearwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was so much fun! Erik is really cool and knows a lot about Amsterdam. He’s a lot of fun and makes the tour. Had a great time and was with a great group that made it better.

Visited February 2016
Helpful?

Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2016 via mobile

Highly recommended
A different xperiece from the regular Amsterdam tours – truly fun
Erik was very knowledgable on the other type of Amsterdam , and shows some really good insights as well as tips of the city

A fun experience

Visited January 2016
Helpful?

Thank עידן ג
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

We did have some errors with the tour, i.e people not showing up on time, but Erik handled it like a professional. He is so informative and knowledgeable about the city and it’s history. I learned a lot from his tour. When I come back I will definitely do his tour again. I consider him a friend, that is how personable he is. Can’t say enough good things about Erik.

Visited November 2015
Helpful?

Thank greeneyes871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015

what a wonderful experience . it was very funny and informative . the guide was very professional& very personal. the whole tour was associated with a Dutch feeling . thank you for this wonderful day in Amsterdam …see you again

Visited December 2015
Helpful?

Thank similamill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Quebec, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015

Me and my friends had such an amazing experience on the Gangja walking tour with our guide. At first I was sceptical because I’ve never tried cannabis or been to Amsterdam, but she made me feel really comfortable and I even got a little bit “stoned” on the way!!
Would highly recommend this tour to anybody who is interested in learning more about Amsterdam and the experiences it has to offer, especially if you are unused to this sort of thing. The guide really made the tour worthwhile with all her knowledge and friendliness, so I tipped her very generously and am sure you will feel the same way as I do!

Visited November 2015
Helpful?

1 Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Barcelona, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

Had a fantastic time on the ganja tour! The tour was professional, memorable and informative and the guide was able to answer all of my questions. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great time in Amsterdam!

Visited October 2015